Sailing holiday Atlantic Ocean, West Africa

Yacht charter Canary Islands, Cape Verde or the Azores

Yacht Charter Atlantic (West Africa). Located on the West side of Morocco and the Sahara, in the Atlantic Ocean are the Canary Islands. Each island has its own beauty and characteristics. As a popular sailing incentive trips, more and more people to this beautiful archipelago. Additionally, on the west side of Africa there are also the beautiful archipelagos Cape Verde and the Azores.


Sailing holiday Azores

The islands of the archipelago are divided in three geographical groups: the Eastern Group, comprising Santa Maria and São Miguel, the Central Group, including Terceira, Graciosa, São Jorge, Pico and Faial, and the Western Group, composed by Corvo and Flores. The Azores, along with the archipelagos of Madeira, Canary Islands and Cape Verde, constitute the biogeographic region of Macaronesia, a name which means “fortunate islands” for those who live there and visit them.

And do you want to experience of having a whale next to your yacht? The Azores are currently one of the world’s largest whale sanctuaries. Among resident and migrant species, common or rare, more than 20 different types of cetaceans can be spotted in the Azores. It is an impressive figure and it corresponds to a third of the total number of existing species. This is an an ecosystem with unique characteristics. With majestic whales and friendly dolphins, the blue Atlantic Ocean becomes even more magic around these nine islands. And it brings to the present, when preservation is the keyword, an old cry: “How she blows!”

Canary Islands

Sailing holiday Canary islands

The islands making up this group are Tenerife, Fuerteventura (windsurfer’s paradise), Gran Canaria (most populated), Lanzarote (spectacular volcanic relief), La Palma, el Hierro, Alegranza, La Graciosa and Montaňa Clara.

Out of these, Tenerife is the most popular Yacht Charter tourist destination and the largest of the group. It’s also home to Spain highest altitude and the world’s 3rd largest volcano still active and together with the other Canary Islands home to 4 of Spain’s 13 national parks.

The reason these 13 islands in the Atlantic manage to attract so many visitors each year is because of their beautiful mountainous scenery and sandy beaches completed by the subtropical climate. They are divided into 2 groups, the eastern one comprised of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and the six islets surrounding them which form a single submarine plateau (the Canary Ridge) and the western group comprised of Tenerife, Gran Canaria, La Palma, La Gomera and Ferro which is somewhat higher exceeding 1200 m and having a maximum altitude of 3718 m at Teide Peak.

Cape Verde

Sailing holiday Cape Verde Sao Vincente

Cape Verde was a Portuguese colony until 1975. The archipelago is of volcanic origin. Some islands are bare (Sal and Boavista) and have miles of beaches, while other islands are mountainous and green again and have a beautiful nature, such as Santo Antao and Brava.

Cape Verde is still relatively unspoiled by tourism. Most travelers come here for diving or hiking. The atmosphere and culture have a unique character. There are African, Portuguese and Mediterranean influences. Cape Verde consists of ten islands, eight of which are volcanic.

The archipelago is divided into two groups. The northern part consists of the islands of Santo Antao, Sao Vicente, Santa Lucia, Sao Nicolau, Sal and Boavista. The southern part includes Maio, Santiago, Fogo and Brava.